Half Marathon Training Week 7

Good morning!

I posted a couple weeks ago about how I am currently training for a half marathon. You can find that post here.

It has been going quite well, I must say. It may seem that I just jumped right into week 7, but it is only because I started blogging after I started the training. Oops! I guess I procrastinated a little bit.

So here is a recap of weeks 1-6…

You may think that week one looks very simple… Which if you have completed 5k training, and currently run 6 miles per week, then yeah, it is simple.

However, I started this plan after I had taken a month off of running. (I was recovering from an injury, more on that later). So I felt like I was starting from scratch, and I had to take it easy during the runs. Meaning, I couldn’t sprint at all, and any time I felt the tightness in my ITB I had to chill out. Bummer. So, with having to deal with that, I’d say the first 6 weeks went quite well. I try never to miss a long run, they are the most important. And, I did cross-training that would not irritate that ITB of mine. Such as biking (I borrowed my aunt’s bike), swimming (in the community pool), walking, I even went kayaking.

This week will be my 5 mile run. Let’s see if I can do it. May was the last time I ran 5 miles. I am very hopeful.

Something I have learned with the training is that at the beginning of the week I need to look at my schedule and make sure that I do not have a prior arrangement that will conflict with my workouts. And if I do, well, then adjustment is necessary. For example, I usually do my runs Tuesday, Friday, and long runs on Sunday. But I will be out of town this weekend, so I am moving the 5 miles to the Friday before. Boom done and done. Can doozville.

Don’t beat yourself up if you miss a workout, but do try not to. Have patience because it will happen when you have a crappy week and you feel like you have fallen behind.  Just keep going, you are not competing with anyone, just trying to do your best.

What has help you through a tough week and grabbing your running shoes seems impossible?

Leave a Reply

