Summer Running

Good Morning!!!!!!

So, I arrive at work this morning and my welcoming was not very welcomed. I pull up to the office to see the the front door is propped open, and that can only mean one of two things…

1) Something is very smelly in there. Burnt pop corn maybe??

OR

2) A/C is not working.

Oh yes. A/C is shut DOWN!

Yes. You read correctly, it is 92 degrees INSIDE.
Yes. You read correctly, it is 92 degrees INSIDE.

South Florida is in full summer swing. There is no escaping the heat around here, and the humidity is a whole different story.

So while I am in the inferno which is my office, I started to think about how running outside smack in the middle of summer is so torturous. And that it can actually be dangerous! Here are a few tips for coping with humidity and brain frying heat.

  • Get your butt up early to run before the sun comes out. It’s hard but it is worth it.
  • Run in the evening. Just make sure that you are visible.
  • Find running trails that are shaded. They really do help.
  • Hydrate. Hydrate. Hydrate. Don’t wait until the last minute to get hydrated.
  • Forget about how fast you are going. High heat is not the time for PRs.
  • Be alert to signs of heat exhaustion or other heat caused illnesses. You wouldn’t want a fellow runner to find you passed out on the trail.
  • Run near water if possible. I regularly run over a bridge and the combination of the cool water breeze and elevation makes it much more bearable.

I hope these tips help you out. Or an easy solution to running in the heat is to hop on a treadmill inside. Unfortunately I do not have one, nor do I have a Gym membership… I might give in to the pressure though. =D Although us Floridians complain about the heat, I still would have to say that I will take it over the brutal northern winters. I ran in 55 degree weather once and I was wheezing and coughing like the little Penguin from Toy Story. I can’t imagine running in freezing temperatures. Props to you my northern runner friends.

See ya Later!

P.S. By the time I finished writing this post the temperature is now 95 degrees Fahrenheit!

running-in-heat

Leave a Reply

