A Quick and Easy Curry Stir Fry Recipe! and a Chinese Food Disaster.

by Josey

Nutrition is so important for runners. And I think that sometimes that can be the hardest thing to change in your routine. Not devouring the entire bag of chips can be a challenge, or resisting those delicious fudgy brownies…. Mmm… oh right I am suppose to be talking about NOT eating brownies. Everything you put in your mouth could effect your run negatively or positively… speed walking to the closest bathroom you can find  because you just had to have that milkshake in afternoon is a big fat zero fatty NEGATIVE. Hands off the milkshake! So I figure that I could share with you a recipe that won’t make you run behind a bush to take an unexpected bathroom break during your workout.

Any who, today I am posting my first recipe. It is sooo good, and good for you! You receive lots of nutrition from colorful veggies.


And with spices like turmeric, it can help with inflammation.

Curry Spices

And other easy ingredients…

 

All stir fried together…

 

This recipe is so quick and easy. It satisfies all your Asian food cravings, including take-out “Chinese” food. I have a running horror story about take-out Chinese food… Want to hear it? Sure you do… After a 10 mile run one evening, I went straight over to a friends house, where we were going to eat some dinner and play some games. I didn’t even stop at home to shower or change. The hubs was meeting me over there too. So I completed my 10 miles and of course after burning through 1,000+ calories I needed to get something in my belly. I arrived at the house and the went to town on the General Tsao’s chicken, fried rice and egg rolls that had been ordered by my “not so health conscience” friends. But I was so hungry that I didn’t even care!

GET. IN. MY. BELLY.

Oh how satisfied I was. So, later that night I felt a little grumble in my stomach, and another, and another! And before I knew it I was throwing up like a crazy person in the bathroom. So disgusting. So what lesson did we learn here? Don’t run 10 miles and gorge yourself on deep fried chicken smothered in some General Tsao’s sauce. Just because they put one little floret of broccoli on top doesn’t mean that it is your friend. It’s a frenemy. (Friend+Enemy=Frenemy). Wow I can’t believe you read that whole story. With no more ado:

Currystirfry

Curry Stir Fry

You will need:

2 T coconut oil (sesame for a more Asian flair)

1 bag broccoli slaw

1 cup shredded carrots

2 bell peppers, sliced thin

1 medium onion, sliced thin

2 cloves fresh minced garlic

1 teaspoon red curry powder

1/4 teaspoon tumeric

1/4 teaspoon chinese five spice

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon ginger (I use the tubed minced stuff for convenience)

1 lb chicken breast (or other protein)

cilantro optional

1. Heat 1 Tablespoon of oil in a large pan over medium-high heat. Once the oil is hot add your broccoli slaw, shredded carrots, sliced bell peppers, sliced onions, and garlic to pan. Stir fry the the veggies for about 10 minutes stirring occasionally so they don’t burn.

2. Add your spices… red curry powder, turmeric, chinese five spice, and salt. Stir to combine. The amounts of spices listed are only a starting point, I usually add twice as much. I do love lots of spices. Taste it and see if you would like to add more spices.

3.Continue cooking the veggies for another 5 or so minutes or until you reach the desired crispiness. Once cooked, remove veggies from the pan to a bowl. Set aside.

4. Heat the other 1 Tablespoon of oil in the same pan over medium-high heat. Add the thinly sliced chicken strips, and ginger to the pan. I also add even more ginger, but it is up to your preference. Add salt if desired. Cook chicken for about 4 minutes or until no longer pink in the middle (depends on how thin you sliced it).

5. When chicken is cooked through add the veggies back to the pan and combine the two. Once combined, you can serve it topped with some chopped cilantro or add some sriracha chili sauce for a little more of a kick (may result in a belly ache though, so use caution).

So that’s it! Easy, quick, and scrumditilumtious! Please let me know how it turned it. Thanks for stopping by!

See ya!

2 thoughts on “A Quick and Easy Curry Stir Fry Recipe! and a Chinese Food Disaster.

Leave a Reply

