Marathon Training Week 7 Stuffed with Rainbows

Week 7 of our Marathon Training is complete. The 10 mile run is in the past, and this coming week (week 8) will be filled with unicorns and rainbows as my long run will cut back to 8 miles. I am not thinking about week 9 which I will have to complete a dreaded 11 miles. No sense in thinking about the following week, we are just taking this marathon training adventure one day at a time.

I am sure by now you are anxiously awaiting the highlights of the past week. Well you need to just hold on to your butts, and say the magic word. (f you can’t tell, I am very excited about Jurassic World coming out this weekend!)

Week 7 was to be filled with a few things that I was a little nervous about. I had on the schedule to increase my bridge run (“hill” run… there’s no hills in Florida) by 0.5 miles. The 0.5 miles wasn’t the issue but I needed to increase the amount of times I go over the bridge. Currently it has been two round trips, and I had intentions of increasing it to three round trips. The Marathon will have this same amount of trips over the bridge.

Success! I did three round trips. But right when I turned to head back, I saw this…

Running Nightmare
Running Nightmare

I ran as fast as I could, but was unsuccessful in staying dry. Running in the rain made me feel HARDCORE, but at the same time I hated life. Running in soggy shoes stinks big time.

So after a few more over the week and a speed run it was time for the big 1-0 (10 mile run). And surprise!! The sis came down for the weekend!!! We did our long run together, and it went great. Other than the extreme humidity, our 10 mile run is in the past. And we rested the rest of the day.

Only 16 more miles to go!!

champion

Does anyone else have any crazy rain run stories, or long run success stories?? Let us know in the comment section.

See ya later!

Leave a Reply

