Run Fast. Eat Slow. Challenge Accepted. 

Why hello there. Fancy meeting you here….

Anywho, let us get to it. I am an avid listener of podcasts. I keep up with the Marathon Training Academy podcast weekly, most the time I will listen to it during a run (if you haven’t listened to it before, you absolutely should. It is fantastic). I was listening to episode 187 an interview with Olympic Marathoner Shalane Flanagan and food writer Elyse Kopecky. They were discussing their new cookbook, Run Fast. Eat Slow. 

I believe I was doing a 6 mile run, but anyways. I quickly became engrossed in the topic! Elyse (food writer and runner) discussed how when she moved abroad for a few years, she didn’t have the different options in the food world that we have in the U.S. She began to eat things she may have chosen not to in the states, whole milk yogurt, butter, etc. But for the first time she actually began to feel nourished and healthy. She came back to the United States, and shared her nutritional findings with her good friend, Shalane Flanagan, and this changed how Shalane fueled her life and running for the better.


They shared some recipes, and discussed the cookbook during the podcast interview. As soon as my run was over I was logging into my Amazon account ordering the cookbook. I have been trying to improve my running, and this seemed like a step in the right direction; change the way I eat.


I couldn’t wait until it arrived! And it was only two day shipping (I ❤️ Amazon Prime). When it arrived I looked through every recipe, and read all the forwards. I have had the book for a week and I have already made twelve recipes!!!! 12! Including juices, muffins, main dishes, soups, salads, and sides. So far, I have liked every recipe, most I even love! I have made two batches of the superhero muffins. Those are a big time score.

So as a big fan of the movie Julie and Julia (I have also read the book, but I think I like the movie better) I decided I am going to do something similar but not so extreme. I just want to make all the recipes in this book, and share my thoughts on them.

What do ya think ya crazy peeps?

It. Is. On!

Leave a Reply

