Perfect Steel Cut Oats

HI there! I’m coming at ya today with a breakfast recipe I make all the time, you can make a large portion and use it all week. It is an easy and versatile steel cut oat recipe.

This morning I dragged my husband out of bed at 5 am to make it to a cycling class at 5:45 am. I think I have mentioned that the cycling instructor on Friday morning is really fantastic. He gives great direction and keeps you motivated, always encouraging you to keep going. He is very nice too, he recognized that my husband was new and came over, introduced himself, and made him feel welcomed. Props to you Mr. Cyclist!

I had prepared some steel cut oats ahead of time, that way when we arrived home breakfast was ready.

IMG_7176

This is a very nutritious breakfast. High in protein and fiber, a fantastic way to start your day. I have also packed it for lunch too. It is inexpensive and filling. It is really quick to make too! You start it in the evening, I usually get it going right before I go to bed, and then it is ready in the morning… I’ll show you what I mean!

To make the oats:

Start with a medium size sauce pan, heat over medium/high heat a little bit of olive oil. Once it is hot, add the oats and a little salt. Heat the oats, stir a little until they become filled with a nutty fragrance, about 4 minutes. Then add the water, bring heat up to high. Wait for a boil.

Once water starts to boil, cover and turn heat off. Keep covered all night. When you get up the next morning, you will have perfectly cooked steel cut oats.

Keep the oats refrigerated for up to 5 days. When you want to prepare yourself a bowl, you can heat the oats in the microwave or in a saucepan. Transfer over to a bowl, top with whatever you desire. My favorite is to top it with about teaspoon of honey, half cup cut fresh strawberries, a dusting of cinnamon and a small handful of crush pecans. I also love to top it with any kind of berries or bananas.

I hope you enjoy!

Splendora

Signature

Leave a Reply

