My Decision to Become a Certified Personal Trainer

So I have been working at my local Whole Foods market for some time, in addition to assisting my husband with the business he started up a few years back. Whole Foods has been a wonderful place to work for. My Team Leaders have been fantastic, I couldn’t have asked for better leadership but I have been flirting with the idea of pursuing Certified Personal Training. I mean don’t I look like a happy little camper in my chef’s coat?

fullsizerender-1

This would open up many doors into some adjacent health careers, such as, Physical Therapy, dietetics, running coach, or other group fitness ventures. Also, I REALLY love fitness, and enjoy creating new workouts for myself and my friends.  I did lot’s of research as to how long it would take, the cost, programs. I spoke with two good friends of mine that were personal trainers (both using different companies to obtained their certification). I spoke a lot with the hubs about it, I think he was over it. The decision was made! I signed up to complete my studies with National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM)!  started working only with the hubs, and left my little job at Whole Foods to bigger things. Thank you Whole Foods for everything.

I am so excited! I am not a college grad or anything, so it is very thrilling to be doing some additional schooling. These were some factors in making my decision:

  • Personal Recommendations

I had narrowed it down to ACE of NASM that I would like to do. Pretty much everyone highly respected both. But when I asked what would you choose and why. The majority said they would go with NASM because of their deep science based lessons. I would like to, at some point, focus my personal training on postpartum fitness, so I thought science based would be the better choice.

  • Blogger Recommendations

These recommendations weren’t personally given to me, but I did my fair share of research and it seemed that in the blogger world, NASM was on top. There is a great article over on Julie’s blog pbfingers. Her post was very helpful.

  • Color

Ok, this one is embarrassing. But I liked the blue color on the website of NASM, rather than the red on ACE. I know, I know. Please don’t laugh at me.

I am very excited about this new chapter of this fitness journey. I never would have thought that I would be doing something this cool!

Thanks for coming by. Let me know if you have any tips or tricks about studying and preparing for becoming a CPT.

 

One thought on “My Decision to Become a Certified Personal Trainer

Leave a comment